News Releases


RTDNF Canada Announces 2021 Scholarship Winners

TORONTO, June 8, 2021 – Ryerson University students dominate this the 2021 scholarships awarded by the Radio Television Digital News Foundation of Canada.

Five of the RTDNF Scholarships announced today are going to journalism students from the Toronto university.  The sixth recipient hails from Seneca College in Toronto.

For complete information, please click here.


RTDNA and RTDNF Announce Creation of New Digital News Scholarship, Sponsored by Dataminr

Toronto - March 11, 2019 - The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) of Canada and the Radio Television Digital News Foundation (RTDNF) are honoured to announce the creation of the Dataminr Digital News Scholarship, the first digital scholarship awarded through the RTDNF. Launching this month, the $2,000 yearly scholarship is available in time for students currently enrolled in a journalism or communications program, with a registered university or college, to submit recent work for consideration.

For complete information, please click here.


RTNDF Canada Announces New Scholarship

March 6, 2019 – The Radio-Television Digital News Foundation of Canada is pleased to announce the addition of a new national scholarship. 

JJ Richards Scholarship

This award is for a student who is registered full time in their third or final year in a recognized journalism program in Canada.
Candidates must submit a radio documentary between 2:00-30:00 minutes long
Must be completed by the entrant, not by a team
Judging criteria will be based on: Excellence in storytelling; Originality; Quality of actuality and clips
Submissions are limited to one per applicant and work must have been produced in the Fall 2017 – Spring 2019 school year.  Entry deadline is March 29, 2019.

About JJ Richards

JJ was a pioneer in the broadcasting industry and will be remembered for his captivating voice, deadpan humour.  JJ worked for a variety of television and radio news outlets across the country, beginning as a teenage disc-jockey in Brandon before moving on to CKUA in Edmonton, CBC and CHUM in Toronto, CKDA in Victoria and C-FUN/QM-FM in Vancouver to name but a few.  JJ received the Radio-Television News Directors Association Distinguished Service Award in 1993 and the Lifetime Achievement Award in 2004 for his accomplishments as a journalist covering some of the most important news stories of the 20th century.


The Radio Television Digital News Association, the voice of electronic and digital journalists and News Managers in Canada and the Radio Television Digital News Foundation is thrilled to announce the creation of JJ Richards Scholarship.  It is available online now, in time for students enrolled in a registered university or college journalism or communications program to submit their work.

For Scholarship information and submission details, visit

For more information, contact Lis Travers, President, RTNDF Canada at 416-384-7407 or email: or visit

RTDNF Canada Announces 2015 Scholarship Winners

TORONTO, May 25, 2015 – Fanshawe College students have grabbed the lion’s share of the 2015 scholarships awarded by the Radio Television Digital News Foundation of Canada.

Four of the seven RTDNF Scholarships announced today are going to electronic journalism students from the London, Ontario based college. The three other recipients hail from the University of Western Ontario in London, Ottawa’s Carleton University and the University of Kings College in Halifax.  RTDNF was established in 1978 to offer financial assistance to electronic journalism students in Canada and to date has awarded more than $300,000 in scholarships. 

This year, almost 200 students entered the competition. The seven winners announced today will now compete for the overall RTDNA George Clark Scholarship which will be announced at a luncheon as part of the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) National Conference in Toronto on June 6, 2015.

The 2015 RTDNF Canada Scholarship winners are:

Jennifer Cork - Fanshawe College - 660 News Diversity Scholarship for a story that best explores the issues of diversity.
Natasha MacDonald-Dupuis - University of Kings College – Atlantic Association of Broadcasters Scholarship for a student from the Atlantic provinces.
Ashley Denuzzo - Fanshawe College - BNN/Jim O'Connell Scholarship for best business story.
Jeremiah Rodriguez – University of Western Ontario - The Canadian Press/Eric Murray Scholarship for aboriginal persons or members of a visible minority.
Kisun (Priscilla) Hwang – Carleton University - CBC/Barbara Frum Scholarship for best interview.
Brandon Piper – Fanshawe College - Marketwired Scholarship for a first year student.
Carolyn Loconte – Fanshawe College - RTNDF Scholarship for second, third year and graduating students.

In addition to a cash award, winners will receive a complimentary registration and travel subsidy to the 2015 RTDNA Canada National Conference in Toronto, June 4 to 6.  

For further information email:

Share |